German German English English

Our company
A family business per excellence

1995 founded by Bärbel Ingeborg Zimber (BIZ) as a meeting place for all who like to work with their creativity and textile materials in old and new techniques. Needlework is our biggest passion and yet our gaze always goes beyond the traditional and we stay in close contact with other textile crafts.

The House of Textile Arts includes the world's most unique Painter's Threads Collection, a International School for Textile Arts and also the German Embroiderer's Guild e. V. acts in close cooperation with us. Material of high quality, good service and professional competence are a matter of course for our team.

Thomas has not only been the most important part of BIZ's life since 2013, but also the "second" half of our core team. He wraps, packs, sends, as if he had never done anything else, even though he had never before had anything to do with such colorful threads or the like. However, he has many years of experience in logistics and has quickly set up a great system with our hundreds of drawers. He himself has been on the road as a driver for UPS and can therefore understand the sometimes mysterious ways of transport and quickly bring wrong shipments back on track.

Our seminars are designed by BIZ, who also paints all the materials of the Painters Threads Collection herself. The technique she developed is more a painting than a dyeing. All products are unique and give every textile project that certain something. All our seminars are tailored to the variety of materials and the colors of the collection and offer you the absolute color pleasure.

Have you caught fire and want to try out more and still more while learning the trade from scratch? Then you have come to the right place! In a very individual program of seminars (available locally and as distance learning) we offer many ways to learn from a special kind of cross-stitch kits to introductory seminars and master classes . Everything your inquisitive hands have always been looking for. Benefit from the competence of one of the best needlework instructors of our time.

If you do not know our variety of materials yet or just want to look at them again: visit our Online Storethat provides a lot of information about the what and why of materials. Short-term appointments to visit the workshop and the Painters Threads Collection are possible -almost- any time.

Bärbel and Thomas have been a heart and a soul for many years. Together they produce and ship hand-painted textile materials that have found friends worldwide. We source our raw materials for the beautiful materials almost exclusively from family businesses around the globe. Globalization also has beautiful sides!

What we do

House of Textile Arts
Home for hand-paint-dyed textile materials
and the craft embroidery

We all shape the future ourselves

It is important for us to counteract the hectic pace of everyday life, the many fears and worries of the people. Let our souls rest again. Away from "what can you use this for nowadays?" to "it's just fun to work with my hands". Working with hand-dyed textile materials is touching our roots and encountering our innermost selves. Some paint or potter - we embroider and make lace and weave and spin!

Studying and Teaching

We stand for the preservation of the artisanship of needlework in all its splendor and variety! With us there is almost nothing that does not exist. We want everyone who comes to take something home with them: the knowledge of what they can do with needle and thread and textile materials. And that those who have the courage to trust us and their own creativity can master this beautiful artisanship by just practicing it.

Support

Service is very important to us, even if we are not always easy to reach by phone. There is hardly a question from the field of embroidery and everything that belongs to the textile design, where we have to quit. Of course, we also know a lot about our hand-dyed textile materials ...
If we do not know the answer ourselves, we will forward you to relevant experts. Your orders will be processed as quickly as possible and inquiries almost always answered immediately. And even if something dances "out of the line" , we are always a patient contact.
German German English English

Hota-Uber-Us-Baerbel

Bärbel is the never-ending source of inspiration in the House of Textile Arts.
Since earliest childhood, textile materials have been a fascination for the Markgräflerin, needlework had always been particularly impressing to her. She is probably one of the lucky few who had a really great manual labor teacher, who promoted her beyond high school. After middle school, Bärbel switched to an ecotrophological high school, where she came in contact with many textile techniques. Unfortunately, an apprenticeship as an embroideress could not be realized, which she still regards as a happy coincidence. She trained in the hotel business, studied social welfare and later joined an apprenticeship as a logistic expert. This is the foundation of the success of her small business, which is known today among textile artisans and artists around the world.

1956: released into the world by the Heavenly Ministry of Culture
1974: uff - the high school graduation is done
1974 / 75: have a break and learn English as an au-pair in Canada
1975 - 1998: learned everything which is quite helpful as an entrepeneur
- Psychology, customer management, organization, import, export, logistics, accounting, human resources
1985: Certificate as a Forwarding Agent
1986: Apprentice aptitude test IHK
1995: Taking the plunge into self-employment
1994 / 95: Certified Classes Royal School of Needlework, London (Hand Embroidery)
1995-1997: further specialist seminars Royal School of Needlework London
(special topics of hand embroidery)
1995: Founding of the company Tentakulum and School of Historical Needle Art - after many trials and tribulations today
House of Textile Arts with the Painters Threads Collection and the International School for Textile Arts
1998: Start of the correspondence courses for hand embroidery
1998: Start of production of own hand dyed threads and fabrics
1998: Founding of the German Embroiderer's Guild e. V. (on board until 2015, again and chairwoman since May 2019)
2000: Development of own technique for the painting of textile materials - start of own series "Painter's Threads Collection"
2006-2011: Experts in the Vocational Education Committee Designing Craftswoman / subject embroidery
2010: Acknowledgment of professional aptitude for the training of Designing CraftsWoMan / subject embroidery
2013: after many more trials and tribulations met the love of my life
since 2014 happily married to the same and working together in the House of Textile Arts

Expert knowledge:

  • all techniques of hand embroidery and needlepoint
  • Pasamentry (manual work)
  • Further skills
    • braiding
    • weaving
    • knitting
    • crochet
    • needlepoint lace
    • bobbin lace
    • Webdesign

Hota-About-Us-Thomas

After Thomas 2013 got to know the crazy Bärbel, the Essener, who emigrated to Sauerland with 15, realized quite quickly that he was enjoying the textile business a lot. Through his many years of work in warehouse management, he was fascinated by immersing himself in the world of a thousand drawers in the warehouse of the House of Textile Arts. He quickly got to know the different colors and materials and is now hard to imagine not to work in our small family business.

Likewise Thomas is responsible for the organization of exhibitions, travels and projects in the EU's Erasmus program, in which the International School for Textile Arts participates in cooperation with the German Embroiderer's Guild.

1957: released into the world by the Heavenly Ministry of Culture
1973: uff - finally just play football and no more school
1973 - 1976: turned a bit crazy and then also made an official graduation on the revolver lathe
1976 - 2013: worked, worked, worked
2013: after the trials and tribulations found the love of my life
since 2014 happily married to the same and joined her company
since 2016: on the board of the German Embroiderer's Guild e. V.

Expert knowledge:

  • warehouse management
  • SAP
  • Truck Driver's license

on our own behalf - a very special chance

You love textile design and do not consider hand-embroidery to be a dispensable relic from Great Grandmother's time. You can imagine becoming independent in this area. You know that in a small business everybody has to be able to do everything and that includes commercial knowledge, marketing, webdesign, computer skills and much more, and that does not scare you. You are not locally bound and also like to travel whenever necessary. You know that women / men in this industry will probably never become very rich. Passion inside you burns so strongly, that the problematic side, which an independence in this area includes, elicits a "I want and can do it"? Then click on the button. Maybe you find what you have always been looking - right here!

German German English English

Unser Betrieb
Ein Familienunternehmen per excellence

1995 von Bärbel Ingeborg Zimber (BIZ) als Treffpunkt für Alle gegründet, die gerne mit ihrer Kreativität textile Materialien in alten und neue Techniken verarbeiten. Sticken ist unsere ganze Leidenschaft und doch geht unser Blick immer über den Tellerrand des Althergebrachten hinaus und in Tuchfühlung mit anderen textilen Handwerken.

Zum House of Textile Arts gehören die weltweit einzigartige Painter’s Threads Collection, die International School for Textile Arts und auch die Deutsche Stickgilde e. V. agiert in enger Kooperation mit uns.  Material von hochwertiger Qualität, guter Service und fachliche Kompetenz sind für unser Team eine Selbstverständlichkeit.

Thomas ist seit 2013 nicht nur der wichtigste Teil im Leben von BIZ, sondern auch auch die „zweite“ Hälfte unseres Stammteams. Er wickelt, verpackt, verschickt, als ob er nie etwas anderes gemacht hätte, obwohl er davor noch nie etwas mit so bunten Fäden oder Ähnlichem zu tun hatte. Allerdings hat er langjährige Erfahrung im Lagerbereich und hat ganz schnell ein tolles System mit unseren hunderten von Schubladen eingerichtet. Pakete hat er selbst auch schon für einen Kurierservice gefahren und kann daher viele Wege sehr gut nachvollziehen und falschgelaufene Sendungen schnell wieder auf den rechten Weg bringen.

Unsere Kurse sind konzipiert von BIZ, die auch alle Materialien der Painters Threads Collection selbst färbt. Dabei handelt es sich bei der von ihr entwickelten Technik mehr um ein Bemalen als ein Färben. So sind alle Produkte aboslute Unikate und verleihen jedem textilen Projekt das gewisse Etwas. Alle unsere Lehrgänge sind auf die Vielfalt der Materialien und die Farben aus der Kollektion abgestimmt und bieten euch das absolute Farbvergnügen.

Habt Ihr Feuer gefangen und wollt immer noch mehr ausprobieren und dabei das Handwerk von der Pike auf Lernen? Dann seid Ihr hier bestens aufgehoben! In einem ganz individuellen Programm von Lehrgängen (lokal und als Fernlehrgang) bieten wir von Stickpackungen der besonderen Art über Einführungslehrgänge, Zertifikats-Kursen alles was eure wissbegierigen Hände schon immer gesucht haben. Profitiert dabei von der Kompetenz einer der besten SticklehrerInnen unserer Zeit.

Falls Ihr unsere Materialvielfalt noch nicht kennt oder sie einfach mal wieder sehen möchtet: besucht unseren Online-Shop, der viele Informationen zum für was und wieso der Materialien bereit hält. Kurzfristige Terminvereinbarungen zum Besuch der Werkstatt und der Painters Threads Collection sind -fast- immer möglich.

Bärbel und Thomas sind seid vielen Jahren ein Herz und eine Seele. Zusammen produzieren und versenden wir handgefärbte textile Materialien, die weltweit Freunde gefunden haben. Unsere Rohware für die schönen Materialien beziehen wir fast ausschliesslich aus Familienbetrieben rund um den Globus. Globalisierung hat auch schöne Seiten!

Was wir machen

House of Textile Arts
Heimat für handgefärbte textile Materialien
und das Handwerk Sticken

Wir Alle gestalten die Zukunft selbst

Für uns ist es wichtig, der Hektik des Alltags, den vielen Ängsten und Sorgen der Menschen etwas entgegenzusetzen. Unsere Seelen wieder etwas in die Ruhe bringen. Weg vom „wozu kann man das denn heute noch gebrauchen“ zum „es macht einfach Spass, mit meinen Händen zu arbeiten“. Arbeiten mit handgefärbten textilen Materialien ist Berührung mit unseren Wurzeln und Begegnung mit unserem innersten Selbst. Die einen malen oder töpfern –  wir sticken und spitzeln und weben und spinnen!

Lernen und Lehren

Wir stehen für die Erhaltung des Handwerks Sticken in seiner ganzen Pracht und Vielfalt! Bei uns gibt es -fast- nichts, das es nicht gibt. Wir möchten, dass Alle, die zu uns kommen, etwas mit nach Hause nehmen: das Wissen um das was sie mit Nadel und Faden und textilen Materialien gestalten können. Und dass Alle, die den Mut haben, uns und ihrer eigenen Kreativität zu vertrauen, dieses wunderschöne Handwerk mit etwas Übung beherrschen können.

Unterstützung

Service wird bei uns gross geschrieben, auch wenn wir telefonisch nicht immer gut zu erreichen sind. Es gibt kaum eine Frage aus dem Bereich Sticken und allem was noch so zum textilen Gestalten gehört, bei der wir passen müssen. Über unsere handgefärbten textilen Materialien wissen wir natürlich auch ganz gut Bescheid…
Wenn wir selbst die Antwort nicht kennen, leiten wir euch an entsprechende Fachleute weiter. Eure Bestellungen werden schnellstmöglich bearbeitet und Rückfragen fast immer unverzüglich beantwortet. Und auch, wenn mal etwas „aus der Reihe“ tanzt, sind wir jederzeit ein geduldiger Ansprechpartner.
German German English English

Hota-Uber-Uns-Baerbel

Bärbel ist die nie versiegende Quelle der Inspiration im House of Textile Arts.
Seit frühester Kindheit waren textile Materialien eine Faszination für die Markgräflerin, das Sticken hatte es ihr schon immer besonders angetan. Sie ist wohl eine der wenigen Glücklichen, die eine wirklich tolle Handarbeitslehrerin hatte, die sie bis über das Abitur hinaus förderte. Nach der mittleren Reife wechselte Bärbel auf ein ökotrophologisches Gymnasium, in dem sie mit vielen textilen Techniken in Berührung kam. Eine Stickerlehre liess sich leider nicht realisieren, was sie noch bis heute als glückliche Fügung ansieht. Sie machte eine Ausbildung im Hotelfach, studierte Sozialwesen und schloss später eine Ausbildung als Speditionskauffrau an. Dies ist die Grundlage für den Erfolg ihres kleinen Unternehmens, das heute bei textilen Hand-Arbeiter*innen in der ganzen Welt bekannt ist

1956: vom himmlischen Kultusministerium in die Welt entlassen
1974: uff – das Abitur ist geschafft
1974/75: erst mal Pause und englisch lernen als au-pair in Kanada
1975 – 1998: alles gelernt, was für die Selbständigkeit ganz schön hilfreich ist
– Psychologie, Kundenmanagement, Organisation, Import, Export, Logistik, Buchhaltung, Personalwesen
1985: Kauffraugehilfenbrief Spedition 
1986: Ausbildereignungsprüfung IHK
1995: Den Sprung in die Selbständigkeit gewagt
1994/95: Certificated Classes Royal School of Needlework, London (Handstickerei)
1995-1997: weitere Fachseminare Royal School of Needlework London
(spezielle Themen der Handstickerei)
1995: Gründung des Unternehmens Tentakulum und Schule für Historische Nadelkunst – nach vielen Irrungen und Wirrungen heute
House of Textile Arts mit der Painters Threads Collection und der International School for Textile Arts
1998: Start der Kurse für autonomes Lernen (Fernkurse) im Fachbereich Handstickerei
1998: Start der Produktion eigener handgefärbter Garne und Stoffe
1998: Gründung der Deutschen Stickgilde e.V. (im Vorstand bis 2015, wieder und Vorsitzende seit Mai 2019)
2000: Entwicklung einer eigenen Technik für das Bemalen von textilen Materialien – Start der eigenen Reihe “Painter’s Threads Collection”
2006-2011: Sachverständige im Berufsbildungsausschuss TextilgestalterIn im Handwerk, Fachbereich Sticken
2010: Zuerkennung der fachlichen Eignung zur Ausbildung von TextilgestalterInnen imHandwerk, Fachbereich Sticken
2013: nach wieder vielen Irrungen und Wirrunen die Liebe meines Lebens gefunden
seit 2014 glücklich mit derselben verheiratet und gemeinsam im House of Textile Arts tätig

Expertenkenntnisse:

  • alle Techniken der Handstickerei
  • Possamentieren (Handarbeit)
  • weitere Kenntnisse
    • Flechten
    • Weben
    • Stricken
    • Häkeln
    • Nadelspitze
    • Klöppeln
    • Webdesign

Hota-Ueber-Uns-Thomas

Nachdem Thomas 2013 die ver-rückte Bärbel kennen gelernt hatte bemerkte der Essener, der mit 15 ins Sauerland ausgewandert ist, recht schnell, dass ihm das textile Metier viel Spass macht. Durch seine langjährige Arbeit in der Lagerverwaltung hat es ihn fasziniert, in die Welt der tausend Schubladen im Lager des House of Textile Arts einzutauchen. Schnell lernte er die verschiedenen Farben und Materialien kennen und ist nun nicht mehr weg zu denken aus unserem kleinen Familienbetrieb.

Ebenso ist Thomas zuständig für die Organisation von Ausstellungen, Reisen und Projekten im Erasmus Programm der EU, an denen die International School for Textile Arts in Zusammenarbeit mit der Deutschen Stickgilde teilnimmt.

1957: vom himmlischen Kultusministerium in die Welt entlassen
1973: uff – endlich nur noch Fussball spielen und keine Schule mehr
1973 – 1976: ein bisschen durchgedreht und dann auch noch einen offiziellen Abschluss an der Revolverdrehbank gemacht
1976 – 2013: gearbeitet, gearbeitet, gearbeitet
2013: nach Irrungen und Wirrunen die Liebe meines Lebens gefunden
seit 2014 glücklich mit derselben verheiratet und in ihre Firma eingestiegen
seit 2016: im Vorstand der deutschen Stickgilde e.V.

Expertenkenntnisse:

  • Lagerverwaltung
  • SAP
  • LKW-Führerschein

in eigener Sache - das besondere Angebot

Du liebst textiles Gestalten und hältst Hand-Stickerei nicht für ein verzichtbares Relikt aus Urgrossmutters Zeiten. Du kannst dir vorstellen, einmal in diesem Bereich selbständig zu werden. Du weisst, dass in einem kleinen Betrieb Jede(r) alles können muss und dazu auch kaufmännisches Wissen, Marketing, Webdesing, Computerkenntnisse u.v.m. gehören und das schreckt dich nicht. Du bist nicht ortsgebunden und auch ein bisschen reisefreudig. Du weisst, dass Frau/Mann in dieser Branche wohl niemals sehr reich werden wirst. In dir brennt die Leidenschaft so stark, dass dir die ganze Problematik, die eine Selbständigkeit in diesem Bereich mit sich bringt, ein “ich möchte und schaffe das” entlockt? Dann klicke auf den Button. Vielleicht findest du gerade hier das, was du schon immer gesucht hast.